17 MAY 2019 | Daily Top Story: Commencement of National Construction Code 2019

Commencement of National Construction Code 2019

The 2019 edition of the National Construction Code is effective from 1 May 2019.

Applications for a Construction Certificate or Complying Development Certificate lodged with the certifying authority on or after 1 May 2019 will need to be assessed against NCC 2019.

NCC 2019 contains a significant number of changes across all Volumes. Some of the key changes to the Code include:
New Deemed-to-Satisfy provisions for fire sprinkler systems in multi-storey residential (Class 2 and 3 buildings) of 4 or more storeys and up to 25 metres in effective height.

  • New Deemed-to-Satisfy provisions for fire sprinkler systems in multi-storey residential (Class 2 and 3 buildings) of 4 or more storeys and up to 25 metres in effective height.Additional
  • Performance Requirements have been quantified and new Verification Methods included.
  • New requirements for accessible adult changing facilities.
  • New provisions for occupiable outdoor areas.
  • Expansion of the mid-rise timber provisions to include other classes of buildings.
  • New provisions for condensation management.
  • Enhanced energy efficiency provisions

New and improved Acceptable Construction Practices in Volume Two.

Access the 2019 National Construction Code here. A detailed list of the amendments is contained within each Volume.

Transition Period for Energy Efficiency Provisions

A 12-month transition period has been implemented for the changes to the energy efficiency provisions, being Section J of Volume One and Part 2.6 and 3.12 of Volume Two. Until 30 April 2020, either the new NCC 2019 provisions or the provisions of NCC 2016 can be used.

Note: These provisions are not interchangeable and whichever version of the provisions are applied must be used in full.

Fire Safety Verification Method does not commence until 1 May 2020.

NCC 2019 includes a new Fire Safety Verification Method. This new VM, which is contained in Schedule 7 of the Code, does not apply until 1 May 2020.

More information

Overview of the National Construction Code

The National Construction Code (NCC) is a uniform set of technical provisions for the design, construction and performance of buildings throughout Australia. It is published and maintained by the Australian Building Codes Board, on behalf of and in collaboration with the Australian Government and each State and Territory Government.


The NCC is made up of the:

  • the Building Code of Australia (BCA), being Volumes One and Two (administered in NSW by the Department of Planning and Environment) and
  • the Plumbing Code of Australia, being Volume Three (administered in NSW by NSW Fair Trading).

Copies of the NCC can be downloaded by registered users for free from the Australian Building Codes Board website.


The NCC is amended every three years and technical proposals to change the NCC are considered during this cycle.


Find more information on the NCC Proposal for Change process at the Australian Building Codes Board website.

Overview of the Building Code of Australia

The Building Code of Australia (BCA) sets the minimum requirements for a building in relation to it’s structure, fire safety, access and egress, health and amenity and energy efficiency. It is referenced and given effect in NSW through the Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979.


All new buildings and new building work must comply with the BCA.


The BCA is a performance based code.


Compliance with the BCA is achieved by meeting the relevant Performance Requirements.


This can be done by:

Source: https://www.planning.nsw.gov.au/Policy-and-Legislation/Buildings/National-Construction-Code?fbclid=IwAR17FLpgAsWOMPWvEXLViLYNWDcsDQb49lk5UzRKUgPKmM8vBB7QnbIQD1s

Subscribe today

Keep on top of the latest Property news and updates by signing up for our newsletter here.

Never miss out on anything again- we will compile all the stories you need to know.